Department Advisory Board

The Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering Advisory Board advises the department head on matters related to undergraduate, graduate, research and outreach programs, including curricula, accreditation, new programs, recruitment of students and faculty and investment of resources.

Current Board Members

David Spears, President
TVA Sequoyah Nuclear Site
TVA
12272 Wildlife Place
Soddy Daisy, TN 37379
Cell: (205) 412 4756
E-mail: dmspears@tva.gov

Carvetta Williams, Vice President, Curriculum Chair
TVA Retired
2001 Wesley Court
Birmingham, AL 35242
Cell: (901) 210-9794
E-mail: carvettawilliams@gmail.com

Arthur L. Brown, Secretary
ISS ECLSS Asst. Chief Engineer
NASA
Huntsville, AL
Cell: 256-289-0267
E-mail: Arthur.brown@nasa.gov

Michael R. Fiske, Senior Design Chair
Task Order Lead, Science & Technology
Jacobs Technology, Inc.
E-mail: MikeFiske@bellsouth.net

April Baggett, Ph. D.
Process Metallurgist of Melting and Casting
NUCOR Steel
2600 Laurel St.
Northport, AL 35475
206-779-5779
E-mail: April.baggett@nucor.com

Billy Bobbitt
President & Owner
Southern Alloy Corp.
P.O. Box 1168
Sylacauga, AL 35150
Tel: (256) 245-5237
E-mail: bbobbitt@southernalloy.com

Gordon Gledhill
Director of Program Management and New Product Development
Waupaca Foundry, Inc.
P.O. Box 249
1955 Brunner Dr.
Waupaca, WI. 54981
715-258-6611
E-mail: Gordon.Gledhill@waupacafoundry.com

Brad James
Interim Director of Workforce Development
Bishop State Community College
351 North Broad St.
Mobile, AL 36603-5898
334-456-9277
E-mail: bjames@atn.org

Justin Ladner
Governmental Affairs Manager
Southern Power
30 Ivan Allen Blvd.
Bin SC1104
Atlanta, GA 30308
205-792-6813
E-mail: jlladner@southernco.com

Mike Petrus
General Manager- Ductile Iron Pipe
American Cast Iron Pipe Company
PO Box 2727
Birmingham, AL 35202
205-281-3203
E-mail: mpetrus@american-usa.com

Craig Seabrook
Vice President, Operations
Seabrook Solutions, LLC
620 Discovery Dr. SW
Building 2, Suite 360
Huntsville, AL 35806-2847
256-975-2040
E-mail: Craig.seabrook@seabrook-solutions.com

David Smith
Associate Technical Fellow
M&PE/MRLE
Decatur, AL
256-432-1300
E-mail: David.a.smith6@ulalaunch.com

Bill Smith
SSAB
E-mail: bill.smith@ssab.com

Michael Stevenson, President & CEO
Engineering Systems Inc.
6230 Regency Parkway
Norcross, GA 30071
678-990-3280
E-mail: Mestevenson@engsys.com

Sid Tankersley, President
American Foamcast
P.O. Box 2549
Sylacauga, AL 35150
256-249-8400
E-mail: Sid@amercanfoamcast.com

Terry R. Woods
TVA Retired
7807 Shinnecock Trail
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Tel: (423) 499-5577; Cell: (423) 400-3813;
Email: trwoods80@att.net

Sheila Sanders Sharp, Secretary
Space Launch System Design Manager
Boeing Huntsville Site Engineering
Huntsville, AL
Tel :(256) 464-3218; Cell :(256) 783 5284;
E-mail: sheila.s.sharp@boeing.com

John R. Koenig, Ph.D.
Head, Materials Research Department
Engineering Research Center
Southern Research Institute
757 Tom Martin Drive
Birmingham, AL 35211
Tel: (205) 581-2436; Cell: —–; Fax: (205) 581-2414
E-mail: Koenig@sri.org

Bill Smith
Director, Continuous Improvement, MBB
SSAB
Mobile, AL
Tel: (251) 662-4444; Cell: (251) 510-3541; Fax: (251) 662-4360.
E-mail: Bill.Smith@ssab.com

Edward J LeVert
COO
Vulcan Engineering Co.
P. O. Box 307
Helena, AL 35080
Tel: (205) 663 0732 Ext.4427 Cell: 205-381-1714; Fax: 205-663-9103
E-mail: leverte@vulcangroup.com

David A. Smith
Technical Fellow
United Launch Alliance
Manufacturing Technology
Decatur, AL
Tel:(256) 432-1300); Cell: (256) 565-2073; Fax: (256) 432-1600
Email: david.a.smith6@ulalaunch.com

R. Craig Seabrook, Recruiting Committee Chair
President
Seabrook Solutions, LLC
Huntsville, AL
Cell: (256) 698-3900
E-mail: craig.seabrook@seabrook-solutions.com

Randy T. Wilson, Past Chair, Fund Raising Committee Chair
Sr. Quality Engineer
2660 Sidney Street
Chattanooga, TN 37408
Tel: (423) 498-6812 (office); Cell: (423) 322-0424;
E-mail: randy.wilson@stemco.com

Past Board Members

J. P. (Phil) Duke
Vice President, Business Development Facility Planning
The Mouat Company
2900 Crestwood Boulevard, P.O. Box 100759
Birmingham, Alabama 35210
Tel: (205) 951-1806; Cell: 205-492-5758; Fax: —-
E-mail: duke0816@gmail.com

Ann Whitaker, Ph.D., Curriculum Committee Chair
912 Sommerset Road
Huntsville, Al 35803
Home 256-881-7685
Tel: (256) 890-8544 ext. 16; Cell: —–; Fax: —–
E-mail: jmw@hiwaay.net, annwhitaker@bgsmith.com

John Clay
Assistant Superintendent
ACIPCO
2930 North 16th Street; P.O Box 2727
Birmingham, Alabama 35202
Tel: (205) 325-7964; Cell: (205) 281 1996; Fax: (205) 325 7964
E-mail: jclay@ACIPCO.com

Jim Lecroy
General Manager
Citation Foam
P.O. Box 230
Columbiana, AL 35051-9359
Tel: (205) 669-5726; Cell: 205-410-5644; Fax: 205-669-5753
E-mail: jlecroy@grede.com

Michael Kevin Minor
Senior Engineer, Morgan Research Corp.,
Home Address: 127 Waterchase Drive
Huntsville, AL 35806
Tel: (256) 876 9468; Cell: (256) 694 9302; Fax: —-.
Email: minorkevin@bellsouth.net

Paul Munafo
Ph.D. Chief Engineer
Teledyne Brown
Tel: (256) 883-7532, Home: (256) 726-1700
E-mail: munafo2@comcast.net

Randy Skagen
Vice President & General Manager
Nucor Steel Tuscaloosa, Inc.
1700 Holt Road N.E.
Tuscaloosa, AL 35404-1000
Tel: (205) 562-1101; Cell: (205) 310 8252; Fax: (205) 556-1482
E-mail: rskagen@nucortusk.com

Ray D. Peterson, Ph.D.
Director, Technology
Aleris, International
PO Box 28 , 397 Black Hollow Road
Rockwood, TN 37854
Tel: (865)-354-6375; FAX: (865)-354-9983
E-mail: ray.peterson@aleris.com

Dale Watring, Ph.D. Senior Design Committee Chair
President & CEO
Watring Technologies, Inc.
2120 Meridian Street
Huntsville, AL 35811
Tel: (256) 881 1705; Cell: (256) 653 5966; Fax: (256) 881 1789;
E-mail: dale@watringtc.com

John Koenig
Senior Engineering Fellow
Southern Research Institute
757 Tom Martin Dr.
Birmingham, AL 35211
205-581-2436
E-mail: Koenig@sri.org